Ceremony celebrates DMK students

More than 150 Dennis M. Kenney Middle School students shared the spotlight recently during a ceremony recognizing their academic success, leadership and improvement throughout the school year.

Teachers, faculty and staff members nominated students for awards in each subject area. The honorees were celebrated for their achievement with certificates and other accolades.

“We’re very proud of their accomplishments,” said DMK Principal Shawn Morgan. “The faculty and staff would like to thank the students and their families for making this school year a successful and rewarding experience.”

Throughout the evening, students in each grade level were called on stage to receive their award. In addition to subject-specific honors, several special awards and plaques were presented. The Henry Parsons Memorial Award, which recognizes work ethic and effort, went to Julianna Kaufman, while the Buzzy Grant Memorial Award, for demonstrating exceptional qualities of an all-around student, went to Lena Turaj and Gavin Griffin.